Portal Home > Knowledgebase > Domains > Domain Renewal Group / Registry of America letters
If when registering your domain, you didn't select the 'ID Protection' option then this means that a whois search can reveal your name and address. Some companies have started to abuse this and regularly send letters out to businesses and individuals that have domains.
If you have received a letter from 'Domain Renewal Group' (formerly 'Domain Registry of America') then ignore them as this is a scam. Throw the letter away or preferably shred it.
Here is an example of the letter you may receive, we get a lot of them as do a lot of people. They are basically hoping to trick you into transferring your domain to them at extortionate rates (they charge £20 a year compared to our £7.99).
We do not sent out letters via the postal system to remind people to renew their domains, we send out email reminders only. Please ensure that you only ever renew your domain via bellonline.co.uk.
They are also known in some countries as Domain Registry of Europe or EU Registry Services.
It important to note that you are welcome to transfer your domain to this company if you wish to do so, but we can no longer guarantee the proper functioning of your website as your domain will be out of our control - they will have the ablility to point your domain anywhere.
There is some more info on similar scams at http://www.domainscams.co.uk/
Add to Favourites
Print this Article